Chegwin, lose or draw.

Standard

Someone check his pockets... he's stuffed them with jokes.

(sigh!) I really didn’t want to start a new blog with this but I’ve got to get it out of my system so I apologise….

Anyone who follows me on Twitter will have noticed a heavy ‘Cheggers’ slant to my most recent tweets. Partly because it’s a swiss army knife of Twitter topics (you can fit Cheggers-gate into all kinds of tweets) but partly because it irks me as a user of Twitter.

In a nutshell, Cheggers is tweeting other people’s jokes and comedians are up in arms that he is merrily sharing their material with no credit or care about what he’s doing. He’s also blocking those who take up issue with him. I have also been blocked, maybe he didn’t like my joke.

BREAKING NEWS : A box full of old gags is stolen from S&M shop. Keith Chegwin is prime suspect.Wed Jul 21 10:06:10 via Touiteur

Unlike most people it’s not the joke stealing that annoys me, what bugs me most is the fact is that it’s just a lazy arsed use of Twitter. There are countless people, day in day out who take the effort to create and tweet funny, original material, even I try and add a humorous comment when I can.  It’s a slap in the face to everyone to see Cheggers rock-up on Twitter, fire off a bunch of other people’s jokes and add an extra 2000 followers to his total. This is the online equivalent of that bloke in the office who heard a funny joke on the telly last night and is now trying to pass it off as his own joke to his work colleagues.

So anyway, now I had a chance to rant about it (hey! Blogs are fun!) I can leave you with this open letter from Chortle.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

